Skip to main content


The QRA sponsors several prizes in recognition of excellence in the field of Quaternary research.

Lewis Penny Medal

The Lewis Penny Medal is awarded to a young or new research worker who has made a significant contribution to our understanding of the Quaternary stratigraphy of the British Isles.

Deadline Date: 15th September (annually)

James Croll Medal

The James Croll medal is awarded to a member of the QRA who has not only made an outstanding contribution to the field of Quaternary science, but whose work has also had a significant international impact.

Deadline Date: 15th September (annually)

JQS ECR Paper Prize

The Journal of Quaternary Science presents an annual award to recognise the outstanding work of an Early Career Researcher (ECR). The awarded is decided jointly by JQS editors & the QRA committee.


Undergraduate Dissertation Prize

The Undergraduate Dissertation Prize is awarded annually and is administered by the RGS-IBG.