James Croll and Lewis Penny Medal winners

The QRA is delighted to announce the winners of the 2017 James Croll and Lewis Penny Medals, who were honoured at an awards ceremony at this year's ADM at the University of Plymouth.

The 2017 James Croll Medal was awarded to Professor Jan Mangerud (University of Bergen). The highest award of the QRA, the Croll Medal is normally awarded to a member who has not only made an outstanding contribution to the field of Quaternary science, but whose work has also had a significant international impact.

Photo credit: Marte Mangerud

The 2017 Lewis Penny Medal was awarded to Dr Stephen Livingstone (Sheffield). This Medal is awarded to a young or new research worker who has made a significant contribution to the Quaternary stratigraphy of the British Isles and its maritime environment.


Full citations will appear in a future issue of Quaternary Newsletter.


« Back to all posts