Undergraduate Dissertation Prize Winners

The winners of the Undergraduate Dissertation Prize for 2015 were announced at the recent AGM. The top two entries (from 14 submissions in total) were of such high quality that the judges were unable to separate them: two prizes were therefore awarded. The judges noted that the originality of the work and the depth with which the students engaged with the wider literature was of near professional quality in both cases, and that the dissertations could easily form the basis for academic publications. The Association warmly congratulates both winners:

Neil Adams
(Royal Holloway)
A palaeoenvironmental analysis of the Early Pleistocene ‘Siliceous Member’ at Westbury Cave, Somerset, UK

Tom Dunn
Greenland Ice Sheet supra-glacial lakes: their relationship with bed topography, ice thickness and ice flow velocity

Abstracts of the winning dissertations will be published in a forthcoming issue of Quaternary Newsletter.  The Association wishes to thank the examiners, Ian Candy and Ian Evans, and to acknowledge the continuing support of Catherine Souch and others at the RGS for the administration of the prize.

« Back to all posts